At Home with Cathy and Baby Leo

_MCA5639
Cathy using the Solly wrap to wear baby Leo while he sleeps

Pippa and I were lucky enough to spend the morning in Venice Beach with Cathy and baby Leo on his 2nd month birthday. Cathy and I know each other from college, but only recently rekindled our friendship when we realized via facebook that we both are living in LA. It has been great to see Cathy again and during such a special time in her life- pregnant and now as a mom. On this latest visit, Pippa was especially interested in the new baby and Cathy was kind enough to let her gently touch Leo’s head and hands- so precious! I also loved capturing the sweet moments between Cathy and Leo as she took me around her house, letting us take a peak into her daily routine. Read on to see more photos from our morning together and to hear what Cathy loves most about life with Leo so far.

_MCA5569

Cathy, Leo is absolutely perfect. And you are glowing as a mom, you are truly such a natural. How have you found the transition to motherhood?

To be honest, I had little expectation before giving birth. Some days are easier than others but overall it’s just been a joy taking care of my newborn baby.

Yes, it is hard to imagine not loving every second with your little bundle. Do you have a favorite time of day with him?

I look forward to our mornings when he is wide awake for like two hours. I love it when he just looks at me and coos and smiles. That is the best. I also look forward to his bath at the end of the day knowing that he really enjoys it and it will surely put him to sleep afterward.

It is obvious that Leo knows you and loves you so much already. I only held him for a second before he started crying and as soon as he was back in your arms he was content again- it was like magic! But really, it is beautiful seeing the two of you together. What has helped you form such a close bond with Leo?

I truly think that breastfeeding, co-sleeping, and baby wearing have all contributed to our growing so close. All three of those things were hard for me to do at first, but each one is so worth it. I highly recommend every mom consider trying to do all of those things.

_MCA5672

One word to describe your approach to motherhood:

Patience

What is one hobby or interest that you have now that you did not have before?

Reading baby related topics online.

_MCA5656

When Pippa was first born, I would go to sleep and dream about her and wake up in the morning, dead-tired, but so happy because there she was lying next to me! It was like the joy a child feels on Christmas morning, but even more so. What have you found most joy-filled about life with Leo, so far? Or what is the most joyful moment in your day with him?  

I feel the same way you do – like Christmas morning every single day with my baby Leo. There are just so many moments during the day that just by looking at his cute little face makes me so excited. When I wake up in the middle of the night to feed and change him and he flashes a cute little smile at me, all my tiredness just goes away and we go back to sleep happily holding each other.

Cathy, thank you so much for being on the blog today and for sharing your sweet baby boy with us. Cannot wait to see you two again! xo

_MCA5634
Cathy and Pippa before we said good-bye

1 Comment

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment