My Top Ten Foods for Nursing Mamas

This is not an absolute list on the best foods to eat postpartum but these foods have been some of my main staples since having a baby. I like to eat food that is going to give me lots of energy, lots of nutrients, and be good for baby (foods rich in fat and calcium make for even better breastmilk!). And I like food that tastes good. Luckily, there is a lot of overlap in those categories. When my daughter turned 6 months and I was still exclusively breastfeeding her, my hunger levels increased dramatically. So finding foods that were filling and that I could eat without a lot of prep was important. While these foods are a major part of my diet, I have to admit that I drink coffee- dark, very caffeinated coffee- on a daily basis and I also indulge in the occasional glass of wine. Oh, and did I mention I eat dessert? While ice cream is a great source of calcium and fat, I think it deserves its own post. Until then, check out my ten favorite foods and let me know which ones you have tried.

1. Kefir- This drink is amazing! Not only is kefir packed with probiotics, it is whole fat, and 99% lactose free. This is a gold-mine of nutrition for breastfeeding mothers. Being almost lactose-free, it shouldn’t upset your baby’s tummy. I like to add it to my bowl of granola every morning. There are a number of brands and flavors to choose from but I stick to the plain kind by Lifeway. It is often on sale at the grocery store and has less sugar than its fruitier counterparts.

2. Granola- This is a super food for nursing moms. Oats help with milk production and are incredibly satiating. Nothing beats the fruit and nut granola by Cascadian Farm or 365 Every Day Value Organic in terms of flavor and thriftiness. For a while, I bought the bulk granola at Whole Foods and tried artisanal, small batch varieties. Those were delicious and made from the most wholesome ingredients imaginable, but they were super pricey! I was also into Trader Joe’s Trek Mix Granola- Simply Almonds, Cashews, and Cranberries, but alas, it was not organic so I had to give it up.

3. Sheep Milk Yogurt– This is a great alternative to regular cow’s milk yogurt and an excellent source of fat and calcium. I prefer the vanilla over the plain kind, and enjoy eating it with fruit and walnuts. Goat milk yogurt is another option but the flavor is stronger and might not appeal to all palettes.

4. Spinach– Super dark green leafy vegetables like spinach and kale have been a staple in my diet since I was over my first trimester. These foods are excellent sources of vitamins and minerals, including iron. I eat them raw as a base in salad or I sautee them with olive oil as a side dish for dinner. I love that I can buy the spinach pre-washed and ready to eat at the grocery store. My other favorite leafy vegetable is Swiss Chard. It is delicious with rice and a little balsamic vinegar. We usually eat it with cod.

5. Mother’s Milk Tea– You’ll want to make sure you steep this tea at least 10 minutes to derive all the benefits. I drink it at least once a week and love the comforting taste. Knowing it is helping my milk production is an added bonus.

6. Pistachios- You can substitute with walnuts or cashews, really any nut you prefer, and receive plenty of the same benefits. But these pistachios by Wonderful are shelled and salty, making an easy and great topping for a salad or just to eat by themselves as a filling snack.

7. Kombucha- This is a fizzy fermented drink that is packed with probiotics. If you can’t drink kefir, this is a good alternative to keeping a healthy gut. It is a great pick-me-up, if you are starting to feel tired in the mid-afternoon. My favorite is GT’s Multi-Green, it looks like a swamp but tastes kind of earthy in a good way.

8. Avocado- I could eat these every day. This summer I actually did. In my salad, with an heirloom tomato, balsamic vinaigrette, and goat cheese. And of course, they are packed with good fatty-acids, among other things. Can’t go wrong.

9. Papaya- Papaya, pineapple, and mango were my morning staple the first couple of weeks after Pippa was born. There is something so refreshing about these tropical fruits. Not to mention they are loaded with valuable vitamins and also keep you hydrated.

10. Organic Chicken- I don’t know about you, but when I was pregnant, chicken sounded pretty disgusting. I am happy to report that this accessible and affordable source of protein is no longer repugnant to my senses. We often buy an organic rotisserie chicken and make a quick meal with orzo pasta, pesto sauce, and an heirloom tomato. Easy meals like these are the best when time is short and our hunger is at its peak.

What are some of your favorite foods? I would love to hear your suggestions for breastfeeding mamas in the comments below.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment

  1. question on the yogurt – is there a reason you prefer sheep and goats milk to cows milk? Thanks so much for sharing these Jo. I’ve been drinking the mothers milk tea since you told me about it. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment